Consumer Product Review: The Super Inexpensive ‘SIGMAC NE15AB’ LED TV

by on September 25, 2011

in consumer, consumer reviews

Product Review: ‘SIGMAC NE15AB’ LED TV

When you see the ad for an incredibly priced flat screen LED TV, do you dive in and take up the offer or should you consider doing more research before buying a SIGMAC LED 15-inch TV?  See what I have to say and maybe, you will save yourself some time, money and/or aggravation!

Flat Screen TV

This consumer product review started on Saturday, 9/24, when  I had hit up Fry’s because they had an ad in the newspaper on Friday for an LED Flat screen TV for $70.  Unkown brand.  It didn’t say in the ad.

That’s fine.  For $70, who cares.  Plus this is what the stores do.  They toss out a loss-leader sale item, bait to get you in the store, then when you see the other cooler stuff, and well, the rest is history, as is some of your cash.  This is why you do your consumer research and not get sucked in by ads.

And by me, that’s fine.  As you know, I research the crap out of any important product purchases.  And for me, this product is perfect because I have the perfect location for it… in my office next to my computer monitor.  The small Sony tube TV I have in there now can be relegated to kitchen watching and I get a slightly crisper image in the office.  I assume.

Sweet.

SIGMAC LED TV consumer product review

Of course, for $70, I wasn’t expecting any kind of brand name TV nor, am I expecting it to last that long.  But if it lasts a year, I’m good.  Plus it took a wee bit of digging around at Fry’s to find it.  The display model for the 15″ TV was right there, next to the other $150 to $200 15-inch models that had a huge amount of features.

An interesting sneaky bit though…   The TV wasn’t below where the display model was, but way down the aisle.  I had to scrounge to find it.  There were only two left.  Well, to be exact, there were two on the shelf.

But then, there were a few moments that also made me laugh.  Read on and find out why  a brand new LED TV product review made me laugh.

My first Chuckle/Laugh Point:

It’s a ‘SIGMAC NE15AB’ LED TV.  The LED part of the label on the box is a sticker added to the title.  And not added straight either.  The picture the TV provides is not what I was hoping for.  It isn’t much better than the tube pic, and this cheapo is only a 720p screen.  That means it’s not fully capable of HD.  Despite the label on the box.

The info button says I’m in 480i mode.

SIGMAC LED TV prodcut review

But this is perfect for the moment.  The place has no AC, and where the office is, it gets sun and a ton of heat during the day.  The TV will do the trick and is now one less heat source in the office.

My Second Chuckle:

I was trying to find the universal remote codes for the brand, but it is so new that there’s very little, if anything out there.  I’ve seen web entries for using Wards TV codes and a few other ideas, but none of them panned out.  That means I now have two remotes for the tiny TV, my SIGMAC remote and my digital converter remote from COMCAST.

My Third Chuckle:

I thought I’d hit up the website for the SIGMAC TV.  According to the manual for my SIGMAC NE15AB TV, the web address is www.usanivs.com.   If I just put in usanivs, I get Google results that point to “US News.”  Feeding the web address gives me that default “not found” page.

Further digging starts pulling up “The departments under Shenzhen Operation Center are: Shenzhen Finance Center of NIVS Group, Shenzhen Representative Office of the U.S.A. NIVS Group,” and such.  Huh.

Should I be worried?

And I did not try to call the support number.  It’s only good Monday through Friday.

SIGMAC LED TV 330

If I had bought this TV as a primary TV for myself and my family, I’d be pissed.  The image is crap and the sound out of these supposed 6w speakers is crap.

The ASPECT BUTTON

If you want the ‘Aspect’ button to work on you remote, you need to go into your setting menu, ‘MENU,’ choose PICTURE, go to SCREEN SETTING and make sure AUTO WIDE is selected.  (The button will be a solid white filled button.)

Now you can make your aspect button… um, work.  Except, well, it is a cheapo TV set.

The CINEMA setting, which fills the entire screen, is grainy.

The FULL setting is letter-boxed in the small screen. It’s grainy.

The NORMAL setting is a shrunken image in the small screen.  It’s, not as grainy.

I have no clue what the WATERGLASS setting does.  It seems to just like the FULL setting.  I guess.

On the bright side, it has a huge number of input plugs in the back of the TV.  You can pretty much plug anything you can think of into the back it, including a VGA cable.  I’ve been thinking of seeing if this thing actually works as a monitor.  If so, it might be an even better purchase than I first thought of… barely.

My Fourth Chuckle:

It has a SOUND ONLY mode.  Is that a ‘plan B’ for when the consumer can’t stand looking at the grainy picture?

LOL.

Fifth Chuckle…  Sort Of:

When you buy a real cheap LED TV, suddenly the California Recycling Fee stands out.  How can it not?  When I bought a $600 Sony LED TV, it wasn’t even a blip on the radar.  But when $70 TV comes out to cost more than $80, I start to wonder.

It turns out that I was charged a $6 recycling fee?  Apparently it’s a California thing.  I noticed it when it accounted for almost 10% of my ticket price!

I’ll be looking into this bogus sounding fee for a latter article.

In the end, I would not recommend buying this 15-inch SIGMAC LED TV.  And if I were to base my opinion on the brand off of this small experience, I’d would have to say that for myself, I would stay away from SIGMAC in general.

But that’s just me.

Check out some LED TV’s on Amazon .

//////////

{ 15 comments… read them below or add one }

Shirley M December 8, 2016 at 9:07 pm

Can someone tell me if there is a universal remote that is compatible with Sigmac tv? The buttons on the Sigmac remote are beginning to not work. I have not been successful on finding a new remote. If there is a universal remote, will the code be listed or how will I locate that? Thank you!

Cynthia Weddle June 12, 2016 at 4:17 am

Original remote control is lost. What is the code to use for universal remote control numbers for NE15AB Sigmac TV

QFabMax August 13, 2014 at 3:43 am

The little TV is fine –
Don’t listen to the pure-ists…. this is a great little set that wasn’t meant to be a media experience type of thing….just a replacement for the 1978 10″ Sony Trinitron TV – Cathode Ray tube, with dials on the front – that I used to have next to my desk to keep up with options trading. I paid over $300 for that Sony back in it’s day. Thats about $1,400 in todays money.

This little TV has better color, and better sound than that 1978 Sony Trinitron.
Were any of you born then ? The little TV is fantastic for the value.

Go pick on the big guys and, and leave my 11 incher alone.

OK, ahh, that didn’t sound quite right….

Ok, well if the aliens invade, I hope they shoot me first ……

NO it is not high end equipment….picture ok, sound sucks, …it shows a pretty decent picture though, it puts out sound, and for bathroom/office…its fine. I use it to keep watch on stocks and stuff….It’s been chugging along for 3 or 4 years now…..damn good value for 90 bucks…

I think I’ll buy a few more to set around the house…..!!!!!

90 bucks and these weiners are bitching ? Really !?

QFabMax August 13, 2014 at 3:37 am

The little TV is fine –
Don’t listen to the pure-ists…. this is a great little set that wasn’t meant to be a media experience type of thing….just a replacement for the 1978 10″ Sony Trinitron TV – Cathode Ray tube, with dials on the front – that I used to have next to my desk to keep up with options trading. I paid over $300 for that Sony back in it’s day. Thats about $1,400 in todays money.

This little TV has better color, and better sound than that 1978 Sony Trinitron.
Were any of you born then ? The little TV is fantastic for the value.

Go pick on the big guys and, and leave my 11 incher alone.

OK, ahh, that didn’t sound quite right….

Ok, well if the aliens invade, I hope they shoot me first ……

Later Bra !

For a

Has been on for several years. No complaints.
NO it is not high end equipment….picture sucks, sound sucks…..it shows a decent picture, it puts out sound, and for bathroom/office…its fine. I use it to keep watch on stocks and stuff….It’s been chugging along for 3 or 4 years now…..damn good value for 90 bucks…

Larry October 5, 2013 at 3:38 pm

I purchased the 42″ lcd model used. I like the tv a lot. sure the sound isn’t all that great but since I run all sound through my surround sound its not a worry. I did find that if you have time warner cable with a Motorola box then the codes that have the most luck in working are from the Toshiba tv section. Even then I can only use the volume. I can’t change inputs or any other functions. Which is why I wanted to use the remote for. Oh well I guess its not that bad. I have a beautiful tv with a great picture and I didn’t pay out the nose for it. all in all I would happily buy another one if I needed a new tv.

Murlene August 8, 2013 at 9:49 am

I have a NE42AB Sigmac! It was a gift from my children. I have tried to contact the company by phone and e-mail. NO ANSWER or Response. The sound goes out every 20 minutes and you have to turn the tv off for 7 minutes and turn back on. There is no need for a tv if this is what you have to do. So I guess you do get what you pay for.

If you are in this business and care about it at all looks like you would try and at least answer the customer when they try and contact you.
Ican not recomend this TV.

kevin March 26, 2013 at 3:43 pm

I absolutly LOVE my sigmac, best TV i ever owned and i’ ve bought plently from samsung, vizio and orion.

V.Adams March 11, 2013 at 2:44 pm

Go USA …Just bought stock in SNPD last week, sells Sigmac and re-furbished
Westinghouse. Enjoyed comments!. Am buying more stock this week.
Buy U.S.A.

Anita Jensen December 30, 2012 at 12:13 am

Bruce, that is exactly what I wanted & needed. Now I know what I need I will dive into the pile and find it. I was glad to find your site. it was the only lead I had to finding the transformer. I promise to always label any transformers so I know what goes with what.

I am sorry I didn’t reply to you. My email is all scrambled. I don’t want to bore people with the details. All things technical in my house seem to be on rotating strikes. 😉

I promise to always label transformers that come with any new equipment before I plug them in.

Bruce Simmons December 29, 2012 at 6:47 pm

Anita, I posted a picture of the transformer for my sigmac that I talk about a while back in response to your email and you never replied if it was helpful or not. LET ME KNOW… here’s the image link once again, and please reply one way or the other.

https://www.facebook.com/BruSimm/posts/118116371688628

You should be able to see it, whether you have FB account or not.

Anita Jensen December 29, 2012 at 6:04 pm

C. Mason: want to find a/the transformer.
The Sigmac 15″ NE15AB doesn’t specify a model#.
It has a parts no.: NS-LCD15HD-09
Rating: AC100-240V~/50-60Hz
Power consumption: 30W. Any assistance is appreciated.
Anita

C Mason December 23, 2012 at 5:59 am

Anita Jensen: Which model # do you have?

Anita Jensen December 21, 2012 at 12:24 am

I have managed to separate the transformer that I need to plug in the TV from the TV, and the one page Quick Use and Setup Guide. I don t recall a user manual. Can anyone post the specs for it on here, or email me [email edited out. comments are not good places to leave that info] . Thanks in advance.

Bruce Simmons June 9, 2012 at 1:43 pm

Will, it is a perfect TV for a throw-away spot. Mine’s next to my computer monitor, stuffed in a corner. If I pipe it through a stereo, that tinny sound will vanish.

On the angle and darker image, that’s actually a common side effect for some LED TV’s. They have a limited viewing angle. I did a piece here [http://brusimm.com/how-to-buy-a-flat-screen-led-tv-a-consumers-experience/] on things I was finding out when I was shopping for (and bought) a Sony Bravia TV.

THANKS for coming by and chiming in. I enjoy having the added feedback for others to see.

Will A June 9, 2012 at 6:43 am

Yes, thanks. The first code works perfectly all controls. TV kind of sucks tho. I can get around the tinny sound because it’s just in my bathroom, but the picture is not good…goes dark when not looking straight on to the TV. Maybe what to expect for a TV I bought at Costco for 80 bucks. Would have felt better if I bought it for 50 like some of the folks on here. Oh well, I’ll probably just keep it.

Leave a Comment

Previous post:

Next post: