Consumer Product Review: The Super Inexpensive ‘SIGMAC NE15AB’ LED TV

by on September 25, 2011

in consumer, consumer reviews

Product Review: ‘SIGMAC NE15AB’ LED TV

When you see the ad for an incredibly priced flat screen LED TV, do you dive in and take up the offer or should you consider doing more research before buying a SIGMAC LED 15-inch TV?  See what I have to say and maybe, you will save yourself some time, money and/or aggravation!

Flat Screen TV

This consumer product review started on Saturday, 9/24, when  I had hit up Fry’s because they had an ad in the newspaper on Friday for an LED Flat screen TV for $70.  Unkown brand.  It didn’t say in the ad.

That’s fine.  For $70, who cares.  Plus this is what the stores do.  They toss out a loss-leader sale item, bait to get you in the store, then when you see the other cooler stuff, and well, the rest is history, as is some of your cash.  This is why you do your consumer research and not get sucked in by ads.

And by me, that’s fine.  As you know, I research the crap out of any important product purchases.  And for me, this product is perfect because I have the perfect location for it… in my office next to my computer monitor.  The small Sony tube TV I have in there now can be relegated to kitchen watching and I get a slightly crisper image in the office.  I assume.

Sweet.

SIGMAC LED TV consumer product review

Of course, for $70, I wasn’t expecting any kind of brand name TV nor, am I expecting it to last that long.  But if it lasts a year, I’m good.  Plus it took a wee bit of digging around at Fry’s to find it.  The display model for the 15″ TV was right there, next to the other $150 to $200 15-inch models that had a huge amount of features.

An interesting sneaky bit though…   The TV wasn’t below where the display model was, but way down the aisle.  I had to scrounge to find it.  There were only two left.  Well, to be exact, there were two on the shelf.

But then, there were a few moments that also made me laugh.  Read on and find out why  a brand new LED TV product review made me laugh.

My first Chuckle/Laugh Point:

It’s a ‘SIGMAC NE15AB’ LED TV.  The LED part of the label on the box is a sticker added to the title.  And not added straight either.  The picture the TV provides is not what I was hoping for.  It isn’t much better than the tube pic, and this cheapo is only a 720p screen.  That means it’s not fully capable of HD.  Despite the label on the box.

The info button says I’m in 480i mode.

SIGMAC LED TV prodcut review

But this is perfect for the moment.  The place has no AC, and where the office is, it gets sun and a ton of heat during the day.  The TV will do the trick and is now one less heat source in the office.

My Second Chuckle:

I was trying to find the universal remote codes for the brand, but it is so new that there’s very little, if anything out there.  I’ve seen web entries for using Wards TV codes and a few other ideas, but none of them panned out.  That means I now have two remotes for the tiny TV, my SIGMAC remote and my digital converter remote from COMCAST.

My Third Chuckle:

I thought I’d hit up the website for the SIGMAC TV.  According to the manual for my SIGMAC NE15AB TV, the web address is www.usanivs.com.   If I just put in usanivs, I get Google results that point to “US News.”  Feeding the web address gives me that default “not found” page.

Further digging starts pulling up “The departments under Shenzhen Operation Center are: Shenzhen Finance Center of NIVS Group, Shenzhen Representative Office of the U.S.A. NIVS Group,” and such.  Huh.

Should I be worried?

And I did not try to call the support number.  It’s only good Monday through Friday.

SIGMAC LED TV 330

If I had bought this TV as a primary TV for myself and my family, I’d be pissed.  The image is crap and the sound out of these supposed 6w speakers is crap.

The ASPECT BUTTON

If you want the ‘Aspect’ button to work on you remote, you need to go into your setting menu, ‘MENU,’ choose PICTURE, go to SCREEN SETTING and make sure AUTO WIDE is selected.  (The button will be a solid white filled button.)

Now you can make your aspect button… um, work.  Except, well, it is a cheapo TV set.

The CINEMA setting, which fills the entire screen, is grainy.

The FULL setting is letter-boxed in the small screen. It’s grainy.

The NORMAL setting is a shrunken image in the small screen.  It’s, not as grainy.

I have no clue what the WATERGLASS setting does.  It seems to just like the FULL setting.  I guess.

On the bright side, it has a huge number of input plugs in the back of the TV.  You can pretty much plug anything you can think of into the back it, including a VGA cable.  I’ve been thinking of seeing if this thing actually works as a monitor.  If so, it might be an even better purchase than I first thought of… barely.

My Fourth Chuckle:

It has a SOUND ONLY mode.  Is that a ‘plan B’ for when the consumer can’t stand looking at the grainy picture?

LOL.

Fifth Chuckle…  Sort Of:

When you buy a real cheap LED TV, suddenly the California Recycling Fee stands out.  How can it not?  When I bought a $600 Sony LED TV, it wasn’t even a blip on the radar.  But when $70 TV comes out to cost more than $80, I start to wonder.

It turns out that I was charged a $6 recycling fee?  Apparently it’s a California thing.  I noticed it when it accounted for almost 10% of my ticket price!

I’ll be looking into this bogus sounding fee for a latter article.

In the end, I would not recommend buying this 15-inch SIGMAC LED TV.  And if I were to base my opinion on the brand off of this small experience, I’d would have to say that for myself, I would stay away from SIGMAC in general.

But that’s just me.

Check out some LED TV’s on Amazon .

//////////

{ 40 comments… read them below or add one }

Bruce Simmons June 6, 2012 at 9:46 pm

I think one of the other comments made note of the codes Will.

Will A June 5, 2012 at 3:27 pm

Howdy…got the 15 incher coming my way in a couple days. I’ll be using the Comcast digital converter remote (black one). Has anyone figured out the remote code for it yet? THANKS!

Bruce Simmons May 25, 2012 at 7:05 am

Thanks Daniel!

daniel a May 25, 2012 at 7:03 am

codes for time warner cable remote are 030 033 068 179 193 1156 1353 as sent to me from maxwell from sigmac 1156 worked for me i live in ca. hope this helps someone rock on …

daniel a May 4, 2012 at 12:53 pm

joe use your source function ..when the different modes come on screen use the arrows up&down to change mode when you find the mode you want press ok hope this helps .. on another note i really like this tv. picture is really good, better with hdmi and blue ray … rock on people

Bruce Simmons May 4, 2012 at 6:37 am

That’s a good observation “WiseandPoor!” And getting their product from LG would be a huge boost for them!

wiseandpoor May 4, 2012 at 6:25 am

This is such a common story these days. Everyone is in a hurry to get a new product out the door, so they can fill their pockets. They just don’t realize the damage they can cause to the company and themselves. There are bound to be some glitches to be worked out in any new product. But this needs to be done prior to release to the public. The first good news is: they’ve identified the problems and are now addressing them. The second good news is that they will now be getting their flat panels directly from LG as an OEM. Now let’s hope they can recover from the poor start. Go USA !!

Nicholas March 29, 2012 at 8:55 am

I got the 42″ LED about a month back. I didn’t want to dump more than $400 on a TV. Checked wally world(Wallmart) and saw a few tv’s that were decent price and picutre quality was good but found this online and was impressed with it’s specs. Much better than the one’s at Wally’s and cheaper as well. I also research the crap out of stuff and pay close attention to the specs and details, esp the watt’s, that’s important. Too much watt on something that doesn’t need it usually doesn’t last as long or not enough might cause picture to go in and out. But for the mainstream consumer or buget, it means how much electricity is being paid to watch TV. I have my own sound system, my bluray is already smart and connected to my comp via fileshare so I didn’t need a smart tv, nor one that had wifi and netflick’s, etc. over all the picture is wonderful, i found codes that worked for my remotes and it doesn’t heat the room up like my old Sharp or LG. I believe this is a re-brand. Basically a company will buy slightly older tv’s from either Sony or Samsung, gut them with just the basic’s and put their firmware and a case with their name on it.

In the end, I am happy with the 42″ LED. Also got it as an open box and it wasn’t even used when I got it. Aparently the person who got it on sale wanted the 120hz rathat than the 60hz. Got lucky because it was 300 bucks. =)

Joe Davis March 19, 2012 at 9:52 am

How do I change the screen from TV to Video (DVD Player) to watch my movies on my DVD Player? I have a 42″ LCD Sigmac – and a Sony DVD Player with the 3 (Red, yellow and white) prones

Jim March 12, 2012 at 12:24 pm

I purchased the 42″ LED. The picture is very good and since it is in the bedroom, the sound is ok. My big issue is that the factory remote barely worked at all. I got the programming codes for the Verizon remote, and it seemed to work pretty well. Until I tried to turn down the volume after my wife fell asleep. Had to get up and stand in front of it to get a response. Seems that the remote works well if you are standing a little left of the unit, but not much at all if you are straight on or slightly to the right. Sigmac “support” was not any help, just confirmed that you can’t use the remote from the right side. I will likely return this to Fry’s and get something else. Very disappointing.

Jonathon March 4, 2012 at 12:26 pm

Thanks C Mason!!!!! Goodby Dig Mac Remote! I wish I could buy you a drink.

Carole Bowles February 17, 2012 at 9:32 am

Just got a notice from Sigmac that they have fixed my 15″ tv sound. Had to replace the Mian Board and are shipping it to me. I mailed it to them on 2-2-12 so that’s not bad. We’ll see when I get it back how good it works.

Carole Bowles February 3, 2012 at 12:46 pm

The “customer service” finally answered my request for help and I have mailed the TV back to them. We will see what happens and how long it will take for them to fix the sound. They seemed to be aware that this was a problem for the 15″ TV. Only 3 months old when problem began.

Bruce Simmons February 2, 2012 at 11:22 pm

Yea… this piece is about the small version of the TV, and it’s one of those, you get what you pay for. It’s good to hear you’re having a good experience with a larger version of the same brand TV.

Thanks for the news and chiming in C Mason. Much appreciated.

C Mason February 2, 2012 at 11:17 pm

I purchased the 42″ version, followed these instructions from Comast:
If you no longer have the programming instructions, or if you cannot find a code that works, you can search for the correct code by doing the following

Note: Instructions are for the Comcast multi-device (universal) remote control:

Turn on your TV
Press the TV button on the top of the remote, then press and hold Setup until the TV light blinks twice
Enter 9-9-1 and the TV button will blink twice
Press and release 1 and the TV button will blink twice
Point the remote at the TV, press and release the Power button, then press the CH+ button multiple times until the TV turns off
Press Setup once to lock in the code and the TV button will blink twice

THIS WORKED PERFECTLY FOR ME – Everything on my remote, including the volume, works just fine. I really am enjoying this television. Glad I didn’t see this article before I purchased – you would have talked me out of a great deal!

Alan January 27, 2012 at 7:48 pm

Thanks Bruce, i bought this TV as a inexpensive one for my bedroom. Looks like i will return it tomorrow and get something else.

Bruce Simmons January 27, 2012 at 7:45 pm

Alan, I set my Comcast remote to auto-detect and I have most of the functionality. I don’t know what code it ended up on, but I can turn it on and off with the Comcast remote, but volume control is still a mystery.

Alan January 27, 2012 at 7:20 pm

Just bought one today at FRYs. Didnt realize until i got it home that it was a open box item. Remote does not work and cant find any remote codes for Comcast. Anyone have the Comcast codes?

Carole Bowles January 27, 2012 at 11:22 am

Are there speakers you can buy that help with the sound??? If I hit the top of my TV the sound will come back on so it makes me think some little wire or something is loose but if I can buy some cheap speakers to help, that would be great.

Carole Bowles January 27, 2012 at 11:17 am

Did you try the hotline number? 1-888-783-9880 I have not gotten any response to my customer support request.

Tammy Brown January 27, 2012 at 10:47 am

My husband purchased a sigmac 15″ tv, model #NE15AB and we are having a hard time with getting a warranty. We live in Canada and the website I logged onto for warranty, it wont let me acess your website or phone number. Is it possible for you to find me a canadian website or phone number that I can acess as time is running out to get the warranty. Thank you for your attention in this matter.

Carole Bowles January 17, 2012 at 1:19 pm

I just checked with Walmart and their return policy was only good for 90 days. I also just sent an email to support@sigmacusa.com to see if they will help me. Here’s to hoping they will.

Bruce Simmons January 17, 2012 at 1:04 pm

Carole… ouch. My wife hates me because I keep boxed for months until I’m pretty sure things are OK with whatever I bought. Check with Walmart first, see what they say. As poopy as this TV can be, it sucks that your sound is going out on you… that’s worth badgering Walmart about…

Carole Bowles January 17, 2012 at 12:51 pm

I, too, bought the Sigmac 15″ LED 720p 60Hz HDTV, NE154AB from Walmart’s website in September, 2011. The sound goes off quite often and it is very frustrating!! Does it come with a one year warranty or should I see if Walmart would let me return it. I have already thrown the box away. The picture is horrible. I paid $99 for mine. Any suggestions??

letterb January 15, 2012 at 10:16 am

The code that worked with my Directv Universal remote for the Sigmac 42 LED I bought was for Toshiba. The newer remotes smart search the codes for you so mine scrolled through automatically. It took a few attempts but finally found one that works with the TV

Jeff January 11, 2012 at 2:52 pm

Picture is fine, sound goes in and out (TV is 3 months old) the website listed on the original paperwork is invalid. Finally able to speak to someone and was told that they would repair it at no cost… gee thanks, only 9 months left on a one year warranty! N0 replacement TV, REPAIRED. Need to take them the TV and will get it back in a few days. WHAT A JOKE!

Bruce Simmons January 11, 2012 at 11:53 am

Thanks Bill… that’s awesome… Hmm, and to think, I didn’t even think of writing for my own remote. (duh!) I’ll send them a quick note and I’ll republish our codes when they write me.

Again, thanks for taking the time to let everyone know Bill.

-Bruce

Bill Price January 11, 2012 at 7:58 am

Dear Bill,
Received from SigMac:

The codes for Direct Tv are 10054,10030,11156,10080,10027,10765.

Thank You,

Maxwell Bravo
SIGMAC USA INC

Bill Price January 7, 2012 at 8:04 pm

Here’s the link to Sigmac USA. They talk a good game.

Bruce Simmons January 7, 2012 at 8:02 pm

Bill, I got my Comcast remote to work, but only after having it do it’s auto-scan thing. But it won’t work the volume. I’ve been keeping an eye out looking for universal codes, but this brand seems too new right now. HEY, thanks for the feedback on your TV!

Bill Price January 7, 2012 at 7:50 pm

Picked up a 42 inch LCD 1080p Sigmac at Fry’s on a 1-day sale for $339 today. I’m using it at a mountain cabin with non-HD satellite. Will watch DVD’s and streaming video for HD. It’s better than my 20 year old ProScan that’s going away.

Picture’s not as good as our Samsung 46 inch but is passable. Sound is not as good as I would like. Unfortunately the only sound output is a stereo pin so I’ll have to get an adapter of some sort to run through my small amp and speakers.

I too am looking for a code for my DTV remote. I’m assuming the codes have to be similar to some other maker. The TV won’t have a lot of hours of use so I’m hoping it will last. I needed a 40 inch or larger and the price on this one was simply too tempting.

So if anyone has found a Direct TV code please post it here.

nmonroe December 29, 2011 at 8:09 pm

Folks, just hooked up the 42 inch LED model (it was $50 more than just an LCD) and both my wife and I are impressed.

This is a game room only unit, but the picture is great; make sure you use a high-end HDMI cable. We didn’t at first, then got one and there was a definite difference.

The sound is marginal, but we will hook up a couple of low range speakers that will improve that.

Overall, seems to be a good deal for $370 (Fry’s in Atlanta) at least for now.

Bruce Simmons December 3, 2011 at 7:42 pm

Joe, that’s a great point. That the Sigmac is a single viewer’s TV. In fact, I have mine set up on my computer table next to my computer monitor and watch TV while doing things like work on my site. Thanks for the feedback and input Joe! Always appreciate a different voice in the mix around here!

Joe December 3, 2011 at 9:59 am

Just purchased a Sigmac 15″ flat screen from Fry’s for $59.
I guess that it was worth what I paid, but nothing more.

The sound is absolutely terrible. Going out today and try to find some speakers that will help. The picture is o.k. when you are directly in front of it, but don’t expect anyone sitting at an angle to be able to view it.

I would consider this to be in the category of a personal tv with only one viewer and nothing more. Buy cheap and get cheap product, but everyone has to make his/her own decision based on his/her own needs.

Good luck, but don’t expect to much quality.

Craig T November 23, 2011 at 2:18 pm

11-23-2011
It’s $59.99 today at Frys. One positive is it uses a LG LCD/LED
display panel…

J November 4, 2011 at 9:25 am

I had to find a code for comcast’s DTA converter… did the codeless method listed… first thing happened, it flipped channels… but then I did land on the power turning on/off… if I got the flashes right from the how to read the code from the remote… it had DTA100’s number for my sigma NE15AB set as 00711

c October 29, 2011 at 12:12 pm

I just bought the 42 inch at Costco.com

The picture and sound are very good. Fact is, once you get a LCD/LED home, and it’s not next to any other model, they all look great (especially if your memories are of the 40 years + of pre-lcd tvs!)

joebellavia October 22, 2011 at 1:43 pm

I agree with this report for all of the issues I can confirm, box, lable, Fee etc. But i can’t get a picture, made me wonder if a tuner even came with the screen?

joe

Bruce Simmons October 18, 2011 at 6:11 pm

Thanks for the update and the two extra points about the viewing angle and the sound Richard. Appreciate the input! -Bruce

Richard Otten October 18, 2011 at 5:19 pm

You’ve probably already found out the new URL for SIGMAC but I’ll give it here: http://www.sigmacusa.com

Also the viewing angle is extramly limited vertically and the screen needs to be orented so you’re not looking up or down at the screen. You need to be looking straight on. –> | not –> / or –> \

For the price it’s what I expected, Not great but OK.
Thesound needs external speakers – a great use for the PC speakers I was not using any more.

Leave a Comment

Previous post:

Next post: