Joss Whedon Viral Websites With Dollhouse? [Cinema Static]

by on November 15, 2009

in Entertainment, television

Joss Whedon is teasing us.  Of that I’m sure.  He did say that by the end of the 2nd season of Dollhouse, we’d know about his new project.  Maybe these latest viral websites are building up to that.

Over on my Dollhouse Lives post, I talk about a few viral websites that I’ve encountered.

1 is the website for the Rossum Corporation.  That’s the fictional parent company of the Dollhouse.  Their corporate statement starts out,

Descartes said “I think, therefore I am”. At Rossum we say “Let us think of who you are!” The fascination with our cognitive abilities, the need to understand and assuage our thoughts is as old as civilization itself.

2 is the website of a fictional effort that opposes the Rossum Corporation, called Ditch The Tech.

Here’s the video from that site:  (Warning, the end gets LOUD.)

There have been some developments since my last article!

Then there’s a newer page called Wipe The Future.   Itbrings up a page that you need an account and password for.  Knowing the account and password does very little for you except get you a name to chase down on the internet.

By the way, the Username is 69B & the Password is 478.

The subsequent info from logging in gives you barely any info:

“Sara at Spectrin” and “Heiti is the Key.”  (The 2nd phrase is different from the first time I logged in and I can’t remember what the first phrase was.)

Sara at Spectrin, (Spectrin website) is Sara Kingsley from Spectrin.

This is getting complicated because here’s a blog that other folks found that’s probably associated with this puzzle game:  Alex In The City, which seems associated with the Twitter account AlexFromPR.  Eesh.  My brain hurts.

~~~

I tried to figure out if they registered good info but even the website registrations but I only got a bit of info:

WHOIS information for  rossumcorporation.com:
Registrant:
rossumcorporation.com Domain Administrator
c/o RespectMyPrivacy, LLC        (rossumcorporation.com@RespectMyPrivacy.COM)

Creation Date: 14-Sep-2009
Expiration Date: 14-Sep-2010

~

WHOIS information for  ditchthetech.com:
Sponsoring Registrar: ‘Check Whois’ (PUBLICDOMAINREGISTRY) (PUBLICDOMAINREGISTRY)

Domain ID:
Domain Name: ditchthetech.com
Created On: 28-Oct-2009 00:00:00
Expiration Date: 28-Oct-2010 00:00:00

Owner hidden by PrivacyProtect.org

~

WHOIS information for  wipethefuture.com  :
Domain Name: WIPETHEFUTURE.COM

Registrant:
PrivacyProtect.org
Domain Admin        (contact@privacyprotect.org)

Creation Date: 28-Oct-2009
Expiration Date: 28-Oct-2010

~

HERE’S THE INTERESTING BIT:

WHOIS information for  spectrin.com  :
Domain Name………. spectrin.com
Creation Date…….. 2003-07-21
Registration Date…. 2003-07-21
Expiry Date………. 2010-07-21

and there’s an address associated with this one:

Organisation Name…. Lawrence Levinson
Organisation Address. 47 St. Marks Pl., #4E
Organisation Address.
Organisation Address. New York
Organisation Address. 10003
Organisation Address. NY
Organisation Address. UNITED STATES

~

All but Spectrin sites were created this year while Spectrin has been around quite a while.  But they all are set to expire in 2010.

The address for Spectrin leads us to “47 st marks pl, new york, ny 11217.”  In Google Maps StreetView, it’s a nondescript red residence.

source:  Whedonesque – Save Her link1, Dollhouse ARG link2.

Related posts

Leave a Comment

Previous post:

Next post: