Review: Search Engine Visibility Tool in GoDaddy

by on January 11, 2010

in consumer, consumer reviews

GoDaddy Girl Candice Michelle

GoDaddy Girl Candice Michelle

If you use Godaddy.com’s services for domain registration or hosting, you know that when you sign up for these services, you are presented with a myriad of other services that you can use in conjunction with what you are ordering.

It can be mind boggling.

As an experienced web programmer, I found things like Website Tonight to be annoying. It’s great for the beginner. They give you everything you need, but as you grow in your programming, you might find the editorial restrictions I encountered incredibly annoying.

But that’s for another article. Today I want to talk about their Search Engine Visibility Tool.

It will run me about $30 to renew this service and I have to say that the service isn’t as much a service as it is a guidance of what you can do to get exposure.

I felt it was an incredible waste of my money and ripped off.  There are more valuable tools inside the free platform that is WordPress.org than what I encountered with the Search Engine Visibility Tool.

When I signed up for it a year ago, I jumped right on board. But all I got was guidance on what services I could sign up for to help get exposure.  That and a bucket-load of spam from some of the service providers.

And might I add, exposure that never came no matter what I did.

When I moved my website somewhere else, my traffic jumped a factor of 10, but for many reasons. None of which were GoDaddy’s fault.

The only real issue I was having, was the real reason I took 3 websites and moved elsewhere: Shared hosting and the lagging load times for my different sites.

I started getting site load delays of up to 90 seconds and GoDaddy couldn’t figure it out but to say that everything looks good from their end.

Yea… but on my end, when I’m waiting 90 seconds for a page to load, that’s not good for business. So I had to take my business elsewhere.

So now you know!

Don’t get me wrong – GoDaddy reps are quick to reply and a pleasure to deal with. But the end result outside of their attentiveness is the reason I moved my hosting elsewhere.  There would be no other reason to stick with GoDaddy unless they started having some of their more popular staff start to answer those service calls!

{ 31 comments… read them below or add one }

Denny April 23, 2016 at 11:16 pm

I purchased to help get visibility for my wife’s website. Told them what I was doing – everything was possible when I was -purchasing & then they told me I could not do web-site re-directs – even if I do domain masking (where is my BS flag). What I suspect is going on is that I have begun setup & did not include the “www.” at the beginning of the web site – as required by the GoDaddy on-line help instructions. 10 days & counting – can get anyone from GoDaddy to reset my SEV file – I can cancel and be charged the full amount. It is simple – they just don’t give a shit. Do not use them for SEV – I am questioning using them for anything, now.

D. Pat November 25, 2015 at 8:04 pm

I am presently using godaddy search engine visibility tool. Upto 57 pages it was OK. When I added 58 th page I found that SEO tool suggesting me that 58 pages have broken links. I am surprised how all 58 pages have broken links. I do not know how to fix it. Even SEO of tool does help in any way. Can any one give the reason for it and how to fix it.

Thanks

Jw.Ohler May 15, 2014 at 1:44 pm

SEO Tool, From GoDaddy,

I explained my goals to be .. found on Google,
under home Design/ House Plans in Oregon & California, I placed my oder by phone. Read what it says on their sales web page.

It has been 10 days to date , I am no where I have since called, and ask how long it takes, I asked 30,60,90 days I asked about reports , and about things they wrote on their sales web page, the big search engines want money, I feel GoDaddy has not handled my account properly, so No I do not give at this time ANY Positive feedback. All I got was excuses. Their more interested in up sell
I had no need to give them a $110. no big deal , but if you have $110 to throw away please throw it my way .. Go Daddy SEO, No positive feedback from me !

Jackey @ Keyword Map Pro November 18, 2013 at 4:47 am

I would also like to purchase one but how much would the total cost be?

Bruce Simmons September 17, 2013 at 12:06 pm

Thanks Pablo. -Bruce

Pablo H | Espiar Celular September 17, 2013 at 10:06 am

Search Engine Visibility uses a simple page scraper to get the titles, descriptions and keywords for each page in your site, alerting you if some are missing. Some years ago this was important in SEO and in Google’s organic results, but not anymore. Agree 100% with you Bruce, save your money and submit manually to the search engines will be a better investment. Good article.

Viano February 23, 2013 at 5:35 am

Thank you so much for this review. I was actually thinking about purchasing this service and thought it would be a good idea to see some review from those who have you it. Grat job

Aamir Ilyas December 9, 2012 at 1:23 am

New Year 2013 Sms, New Year 2013 Quotes, Happy New Year 2013 Messages, New Year Greetings 2013, New Year 2013 Quotes, 2013 New Year Wishes

marko August 24, 2012 at 10:17 am

Bruce, thank you for the warning about godaddy’s SEO service — you saved me some money! Also, here I thought I was the only one having trouble with godaddy saying everything is fine when it is not. When it comes to problems with their Website Tonight program, they seem to be more interested in selling more of their not so helpful products than anything else.

antonio August 12, 2012 at 12:30 pm

I am confused. Those tools you mentioned in the comments are to monitor traffic correct? How would that even help you with SEO??? Those aren’t SEO tools are they?

Bruce Simmons March 31, 2012 at 6:51 pm

Wheeler… I hear ya. I hosted over there for a while but the website load times sucked, so I moved. They could not figure out why my simple site was taking 30 to 45 seconds to load… #FAIL!

wheeler March 31, 2012 at 3:51 pm

Bill parsons (I think) …sorry

wheeler March 31, 2012 at 3:49 pm

Go daddy phone reps are great…at eventually telling you that they have no idea how to fix the problem they have created. I wasted a month of advertising with Google and Facebook just to find out my checkout area was broken AND godaddy told me it was working fine at least 6 different times I called telling them it was broken. Also their html is a mess, my Google adwords promo credit never worked, and I had one girl insist for a half an hour that I could not upload a sitemap without buying search engine visibility. I am not all that happy. BTW I use quick shopping cart. That being said, the csr people are really nice to deal with, they just can’t do anything about anything. Bill pardons should be held to account.

Dion Lynk December 31, 2011 at 12:56 pm

Wonderful review! I anxiously added this to my cart while renewing my domain and thought “wait a tic” let me see what this is really about (like I’ve grown accustom to doing for everything else I buy). I’m all excited about a “2012” site/brand revamp, and I was about to blindly buy this scammy/spammy promise. My 2012 resolution- No more clicking “buy now” based off of emotion. Thank you for the heads up! Happy new year!

Bruce Simmons December 14, 2011 at 6:10 am

Sean, you are so dead-on… there are so many ads and offers when you check out that it can be a nerve wracking experience getting out of there with just what you want to purchase! Good point, and thanks for coming by!

Sean December 14, 2011 at 4:14 am

Thanks for the review. I still love GoDaddy for making domains cheap and easy to sign up but the check out system and the accompanying barrage of pitches is just mad… I have to keep double checking the total to make absolutely sure I haven’t accidentally signed myself up for a 20-product catalog at 9.95 a month.

era October 3, 2011 at 9:54 pm

What are the recommend services for SEO ,

Bruce E. Simmons (BruSimm) August 31, 2011 at 11:08 am

You’re most certainly welcome Gitta. And thanks for stopping by!

Gitta August 31, 2011 at 10:30 am

anytime. thanks again for the information you blog

Bruce Simmons August 30, 2011 at 8:18 pm

OK, links fixed and social buttons added! Thanks for motivating Gitta!

Bruce Simmons August 30, 2011 at 4:44 pm

Ha!!! Thanks for that Facebook link note on my about page. That’s fixed. Hmm… I have a tiny little ‘f’ at the bottom of each article… guess I need to make it bigger. Actually, thanks for the feedback. I do appreciate it!

Gitta August 30, 2011 at 4:30 pm

No LIKE Buttone here (SMILE)

BtW

both links below from your About page go to the same FP page
(CINEMA)
If Facebook is your thing, here are my FacebBook ‘Pages’:
Brusimm
Cinema Static

I tried to connect on the Brusimm page ??

Bruce Simmons August 30, 2011 at 11:43 am

Your welcome Gitta… glad sharing my own experience helped someone else. -Bruce

Gitta August 30, 2011 at 8:13 am

Thank you for the review. I just bought 6 domains and was a bit annoyed by all these extra “sales talk”. I was not sure about the “certified domain”, googled that, left it out, then reached the search engine vis thing, googled, found YOU, left it out. A lot of money saved. Thanks.
BTW, I am at hostgator with some of my domains and like it as well !

Jason August 13, 2011 at 10:25 pm

Thank you for your review. I will have to find another way to get my site listed myself.

Mardy May 8, 2011 at 8:05 am

In regards to the information at the top, I think Bruce wrote it. I am wondering if you are suggesting using Wordpress at Godaddy or it is another provider. Please clarify.

Thank you very much for your time.

Alex March 5, 2011 at 3:31 pm

Thank you for the tip! You saved me the money and headache.

Jim February 25, 2011 at 10:02 am

Thanks for the input I was just going to place an order for GoDaddy’s Word Press Hosting for my new website DOT-Physical.com when I wondered about the add-0ns. Will check out HostGator!

Bruce Simmons June 3, 2010 at 8:05 pm

Mike, I’m using Google Analytics, WordPress Stats and a few other contraptions I’ve got attached at various points of the site.

Chuck: I’m hosted at HOSTGATOR and they are awesome. You can check out my REVIEW of HostGator at: http://wp.me/pFxCD-2zU (That’s a link to another post on Brusimm.

chuck June 3, 2010 at 7:14 pm

yeah where are you hosted now…? or is your new host not delivering these messages?

Mike Servis January 14, 2010 at 7:20 am

What SEO tools free are you using and where is your site hosted now?

Leave a Comment

Previous post:

Next post: